

Teacher Induction, Retention, and Advancement Act of 2016 Workgroup January 31, 2017 Meeting Minutes

The 11th meeting of the Teacher Induction, Retention, and Advancement Act of 2016 Workgroup was called to order by Ms. Sarah Spross at 1:04 p.m.

In attendance: Sarah Spross (MSDE), Emily Dow (Maryland Higher Education Commission), Linda Gronberg-Quinn (Maryland Association of Directors of Teacher Education at Community College), Rowena Shurn (Maryland State Education Association), Deborah Kraft (Maryland Independent College and University Association), Nancy Shapiro (University of Maryland System), Jack Smith (Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland), Tess Blumenthal (Maryland Association of Elementary School Principals)

MSDE Staff: Alexandra Cambra (MSDE), Ruth Downs (MSDE), Tanisha Brown (MSDE), Kelly Meadows (MSDE); Karen Dates-Dunmore (MSDE), Linda Murel (MSDE), Michelle Dunkle (MSDE), Jeanne Marie Holly (MSDE), Cecilia Rowe (MSDE), and Derek Simmonsen, Esq. (Attorney General's Office)

Absentees: Mariette English (Baltimore Teacher's Union), Kimberly Pratesi (Maryland Association of Elementary School Principals), Laura Weeldryer (Maryland State Board of Education), Annette Wallace (Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals)

Introduction:

Ms. Spross welcomed everyone to the 11th meeting of the workgroup of the Teacher Induction, Retention, and Advancement Act of 2016. She stated that she was impressed with the turnout for the meeting and that this was a very important meeting. Ms. Spross let the workgroup know that the meeting is scheduled until 4 p.m. She informed the committee members to use this time to work on their new assignments. She explained that the three-hour meeting that was held on January 20, 2017 with the workgroup was used to look at some of the things that the workgroup/committees have talked about and to refocus/retool the committees. Out of the January 20 meeting, five new committees were created: Committee 1 – Certification Restructuring; Committee 2 – Quality Teacher Incentives; Committee 3 – Expansion of Professional Development & Induction; Committee 4 – Revising the Institutional Performance Criteria; Committee 5 -Mentoring.

Approval of December Minutes

Ms. Sarah Spross entertained a motion to approve December minutes.

MOTION: Nancy Shapiro/Linda Gronberg-Quinn

To approve the December minutes.

VOTE: UNANIMOUS

Ms. Sarah Spross entertained a motion to approve January minutes.

MOTION: Rowena Shurm/Tess Blumenthal

To approve the January minutes.

VOTE: UNANIMOUS

Ms. Spross gave a brief update on the ESSA feedback. Ms. Spross stated that there have been five ESSA Listening Tours, all in the month of January. The tours were well attended by teachers, parents, advocates and other professionals. An online survey has been created to get feedback from the attendees. Ms. Spross noted that so far, there have been 2,097 responses. Ms. Spross shared with the group feedback from the ESSA tours from Word Clouds.

Ms. Spross gave further instructions to each of the committees. The committees were given 2 ½ hours to discuss and outline their specific topics. She stated that the workgroup has to have the report finished by August. She asked the committee members if they could come up with one priority, what would it be? Ms. Spross requested that each committee come up with the top 3 recommendations, but would love to see 5 recommendations in priority order.

Dr. Nancy Shapiro stated that the new teachers are not fully prepared to do what they are taught to do. Dr. Shapiro noted that even though at the January 20th meeting the workgroup validated the five categories that needed to be done, something like the induction category was not done because it touches all of the five committees. Dr. Shapiro stated that there will be overlap with all five of the committees because one thing is continued to the other.

Ms. Spross reiterated that work will cross over into the different committees. She noted that it is critically important for there to be continued discussion. Ms. Spross reiterated to the group the importance and requirements of the Open Meeting Act. While no committee work can be completed outside of the meetings; it is essential to give and get feedback to the organizations that you represent. Each committee contains two MSDE representatives (1 employee and 1 note taker). Ms. Spross asked if there were any questions. She received no response.

Ms. Spross instructed the workgroup and the other attendees to break up into the five committees. She instructed the committee members that they were allotted 2 hours to discuss and outline the top priorities for each topic.

Committee Break-out Session – 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

See attached draft minutes from each committee

3

Ms. Spross called the workgroup back to order at 3:30 p.m. She asked the workgroup members if they wanted to do a brief report out or collect the notes from each committee.

Dr. Jack Smith stated that doing a report out would not be necessary. He shared that Ms. Dunkle did a very good job with Committee IV (Revising the Institutional Performance Criteria). Ms. Rowena Shurn inquired about the timeframe in which each workgroup member will receive copies of each committee's notes. Ms. Spross indicated that she would disseminate the draft minutes within two weeks (February 14, 2017).

Ms. Spross stated that the next meeting will be held on February 21st at the Arbutus Library from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. The workgroup will review and talk about the notes received for each committee. This will allow the workgroup to see where they need to go with each committee.

Ms. Spross thanked everyone for their participation.

Meeting Adjourned

Meeting adjourned 2:45 p.m.